The Question Matters


When Your Children are Your Coaches

Posted in Coaching,Family,People Watching by treyfinley1008 on November 20, 2009

Last night while finishing up our bedtime routine with my four-year-old, I couldn’t help but notice something that I knew in my heart but saw first-hand.  Our four-year-old goes non-stop.  He plays hard–building with blocks, coloring and creating, laughing with friends at school, and digging in the sandbox.  And when he sleeps, he sleeps just as hard as he plays.

So as I’m trying to calm him down and get him a little more restful, he starts in asking me to help him spell words.  “Let’s spell ‘lion,'” he says.  We sound it out together and he not only names the letters but demonstrates the ASL sign for each letter.  “Let’s spell ‘are.'”  He wants to spell three, then four, then five different words.  Finally, I said, “Enough.  It’s time to get still and go to sleep.  I love you.”

I’m certain he was asleep within moments of turning out the light, but I couldn’t stop thinking about how not only does he never tire of playing, he never tires of learning.  Not even in the last few moments before he closes his eyes.

Another moment when my child is my coach.

Leave a Reply

