The Question Matters


Past Experiences, Present Performance, Future Projections

Posted in Entrepreneurs,Family,Leadership,People Watching by treyfinley1008 on February 1, 2010

I promise to return to some stories about my last year tomorrow.  On a not-entirely-unrelated note:

I cannot escape me. Who I am shapes everything I do.  It shapes the way I relate to my wife, raise my kids, and spend time with my friends.  It shapes my faith, how I feel, what I think, and every decision I’ve made and will make.  I am inescapable.

It’s foolish to think, even for a moment, that I don’t shape my business, too.  My past has everything to do with the way I build and run a business, seek potential clients, turn potential clients into clients, and create walking talking referrals of those clients I work with.

It would be easy to feel trapped by that fact, locked in a prison of my own experiences.  Yet this simple statement remains true: I have a great deal of control over what I experience, especially in the present.  And what I experience in the present can shape and transform the way I view the events in my past. It’s a simple reality that every business person, every person, must face: I am shaping my future with every decision I make in the present.  Not only that, I have a choice over which reality will most shape my future–my past or my present.

Perhaps a living illustration would help.  Here’s a guy who’s trapped in a workaholic’s prison. I don’t know what past experiences got him there, but he’s so blinded by workaholism that he can’t see any other way of living life and defining success.  This is a prison at its finest.

Also, check out this article on past experiences and present performance.

Leave a Reply

