The Question Matters


Intersections

Posted in Coaching,Entrepreneurs,Not for Profit by treyfinley1008 on February 17, 2010

In my quest for financial solid ground, I’m looking into every open door.  I told my coach last night that I had a problem with that approach.  My coach asked me a very common coaching question last night:  “All things begin equal, where are you at your best?”  At first glance, this question seems innocuous and unimaginative.  He followed it up with an insight into the life of an entrepreneur that I’ll still be unpacking months from now.  “Where is the intersection between what people are asking you to do, and what you do best?”

As an entrepreneur in the field of coaching, I have been in the business of saying “yes” to any and every opportunity to share my passion for coaching.  Business networking lunch?  Yep, I’m there.  Not-for-profit meeting of the minds where I can shake hands?  Wouldn’t miss it.  A weekend training event?  Sign me up.

I had begun to feel like I was saying “yes” to everything because I had no choice.  His two questions opened up a world of opportunities and reminded me of what I’m made to do. Find the intersection of your passion and your client’s need, he said, and you’ll have a winning combination.

Check out my coach.

2 Responses to 'Intersections'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Intersections'.

  1. Randy Vaughn said,

    When you get good at saying NO thao that which is not truly beneficial, it becomes easier and easier. Not only in opportunities and activities either; when you get good at saying NO to lowering your price to fit every request, then you’re really on the right road. It takes faith and a belief in the value you bring; when the end of the month is staring you down, it’s hard not to say YES, YES, YES. But those NO’s will give you confidence in naming your value. Keep up the great content!

  2. 2mannasisters said,

    So, what did you decide about what to say yes to and what to say no to? –Marla


Leave a Reply

