The Question Matters


My Toolbox Felt Empty, Part 2

Posted in Change,Coaching,Entrepreneurs by treyfinley1008 on February 22, 2010

The lights dim and the curtain rises.  Suspense hangs in the air until, with a dash of pyrotechnics, a man appears from seemingly nowhere, materializing before our eyes.  He smiles from ear to ear, brandishes a wand and a hat, and performs to the audience’s wild applause.

Magicians are fun to watch.  They move their hands a certain way and something appears.  They move their hands again and something disappears.  They are masters of deception, and they understand the art of distraction.  They keep you looking one way so that you can’t closely observe their movements. There’s no substance there, though.  Nothing is actually appearing and disappearing.  That quarter wasn’t really behind your ear.

On the days when I wonder what in the world I’ve gotten myself into with this whole entrepreneurship thing, I feel like a cheap magician with a deck of cards up his sleeve and a rabbit in his hat.  Surely it’s nothing but slight of hand that allows me to audaciously claim that I’ve learned skills in ministry that will translate into the business world.  A successful coaching business?  Now there’s the proverbial rabbit out of the hat.

In a world where churches are increasingly isolated from the rest of society, I am very conscious of the fact that my training, education, and expertise are a mystery to those who don’t know and don’t care what a Masters of Divinity is.  No one knows better than I that John Q. Entrepreneur has every right to know what my degree has to do with whether his business will just survive or thrive.  And here’s the truth: My degree has nothing to do with whether his business will survive or thrive. There–the trap door has been discovered, the mirrors have been revealed, and the hat is empty.

I’ll refrain from making the rest of my post look and sound an awful lot like a resume.  I’ll just say this–I’ve always said that a college degree is about learning how to think not just how to do a job well.  Looks like I’ve got a prime opportunity to demonstrate just that.

3 Responses to 'My Toolbox Felt Empty, Part 2'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'My Toolbox Felt Empty, Part 2'.


  1. […] my past career would not come with me.  My toolbox felt empty.  Then, there was the matter of feeling very unprepared for the next phase of my career.  I knew then as I know now, that I have talents that fit the […]

  2. Demra Robbins said,

    You could have fooled me. You are a great magician when it comes to figuring out people and what their strengths and weaknesses are and how to apply both for success (your wife is really great at is too). So the rabbit in your hat is that you are a great listener and the cards up your sleeve are hours you spend processing data to understand it better than the person who translated it to you can. It’s a gift I think and one that you can use to change A LOT of people’s lives.

  3. 2mannasisters said,

    The listening skills and critical thinking from college translate nicely into a wellness business. Al that stuff about psychopathology–not so much except diagnosing our neurotic dog. –Marla


Leave a Reply

