The Question Matters


A Picture of Strength

Posted in Coaching,Family,People Watching by treyfinley1008 on March 9, 2010

I’m fortunate I didn’t inherit my father’s eyesight.  My father was legally blind and color blind, though he could wear glasses that allowed him to see well enough.  Those large thick glasses were heavy in my childhood hands.  In some ways, they dominated his facial features.  Aside from his smile and his laugh, his face simply could not overcome the large thick glasses that gave him what eyesight he had. To read this blog, the lettering would have to be

MUCH BIGGER THAN THIS.

Now, as I look at my children and see the picture of my dad’s thick glasses on his face in a picture on my bookshelf, I know that he would have done anything to see his children and experience life with them, including wearing Coke bottles.  I would, too.  Those eyeglasses gave him the gift of seeing his family each day.

Like those eyeglasses, our strengths clarify our otherwise clouded vision.  They allow us to enjoy our lives in bolder colors; they focus our vision on the little things that give joy.   I prefer those bolder colors and significant details to the fuzzy images of life I squint to see through my weaknesses.  When I live in my strengths rather than our weaknesses, I receive:

  1. Greater clarity. Life seen through the lenses of strength will come with a clearer sense of purpose.  Because I know what I was made to be, I can quickly identify if a job or a friendship or a pastime fits.  I will invest my time enjoying my strengths rather than compensating for my weaknesses.
  2. Farther sight. In part because I’m comfortable in the present, I can take a moment to look into the distance at what may come.  And because I’ve got strong vision, I can see farther than someone who sees the future only through their weakness.  Even so, I don’t want to look there too often because…
  3. Deeper appreciation. I don’t want to miss beauty right around me.  There’s too much joy in it.  I’ll live in the present with my eyes looking up, not staring at my feet hoping I don’t stumble and fall on something I couldn’t see.  Looking up also means that I’ll see others rather than just myself.
3 Responses to 'A Picture of Strength'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A Picture of Strength'.

  1. Barbara Hazelip Lambert said,

    I knew your dad. He was a wonderful person. He was the only youth minister our church had during my junior high and high school years. It has been 30 years since I graduated from high school and I still remember the things he did with, and for, our youth group. Please know your dad made a difference in the people’s lives.

    Barbara

  2. 2mannasisters said,

    Very nice article. I didn’t realize that he was legally blind. Wow!

  3. Dianna Robbins said,

    I thought this was deep and very insightful. Good job! Wish I could have met your Dad.


Leave a Reply

